Feeling Fail on Bali’s Highest Peak

This is the second time I have tried to climb the highest highest peak in Bali, Mount Agung. Several years ago I had failed to reach the top. Because my travel companion suddenly felt hurt on his feet before the peak. Though at that time I estimates not far to the top. Finally, I wisely decided to drop the sick friend down.

Now almost twelve years have passed from that incident. Finally getting another chance to visit Bali, Indonesia. After getting an assignment from the office to attend an international meeting on environmental issues there.

From Jakarta, I have prepared myself to climb the mountain. Hiking equipment is also brought along with official clothing to attend international seminars. Travel time was also increased for a few days after the seminar was over. While traveling mate, I plan to search in Bali.

After the seminar is over, I contact every one to find a hiking trip companion. Finally my colleague in Bali recommended Sukma, a climber from Lombok to accompany me.
On a Sukma motorbike we drove to the starting point of the mount Agung.

After looking for goods and food to complete the climb stuff, finally we arrived in the area of Pura Besakih in late afternoon. Initially Sukma invited to rest at cheap lodging there before we climb. But I refused, because I really wanted to feel the scent of climbing mountains again.

So we finally decided to go hiking up that afternoon. Besakih Temple that we passed at the beginning of the trip, is still not much different from decades before, as I recall. The biggest place of worship for Hindus in Bali still stands majestically. With black stone, and has a gate set against Mount Agung.

It feels like really passing through the entrance of Mount Agung. Get a different air, after passing it. After passing through the gate, the journey continues along the outer side of the temple. Crossing the black stone road which may be hundreds of years old. At the end of the stone road, started crossing the dirt road. I see the last temple before entering the forest.
One hour after entering the forest, the weather suddenly changed.

Raindrops began to fall. Its normal in my opinion, because we are climbing at the end of the year at this time. But the rain makes the feet become lazy to walk. Finally we decided to open the tent, right before darkness covered the day.

“Tomorrow, can we get to the top?” I asked Sukma.

“It depends. If we climb quickly, it might arrive. But usually in the months like this must often rain. If today is rainy in afternoon, tomorrow likely will be the same.”

“Wow, the view must be bad at the summit. It’s already afternoon, it’s raining too,” I replied. Imagine a peak area full of mist and rain. I really want to see the island of Bali from its highest point. It must be beautiful.

“It’s better if tomorrow we stop at the last post before the summit. Then in the morning climb to the summit,” Sukma suggested.

It’s better, I thought. At least in the morning the weather might be more friendly. May the sun shine, drive away the mist that closes the view.
That night we decided to rest in the middle of the forest. Accompanied by rain that seems lazy to stop. Even until the morning the sound of rain was still heard outside the tent.

Still Rain

By seven o’clock in the morning, I decided to get out of the tent. It’s boring to wait for the rain to stop. By wearing a raincoat, my body inched out. Visible mist filled the view. The forest around the tent turns white. It feels very mysterious, mixed with the cold that continues to whack.

We were forced to pack climbing items into our backpacks when it was still raining. Rainwater is not too big, but enough to make the body wet. In a wet, we are forced to walk uphill.

Fortunately before ten o’clock in the morning the rain stopped. The atmosphere began to look bright, but the cold wind still blows through the skin. Because hungry, it was decided to rest a while for coffee break. It feels like enjoying coffee will be very delicious.

After resting, we walk again. The trip is increasingly climbing. The soil is also softer when we step on it. Maybe because of the rain that kept whipping all night. Wet moist leaves, feeling cold when hands touch it.
We just keep climbing. Sukma walked behind me. Follow where my footsteps walk. Hiking routes are not too difficult to find. Clearly a stub path, enough for one person to walk.
Several times I seemed to recognize places that were passed decades ago. It seems like ten years is too short for nature to make changes.

Three hours after lunch, I returned to find a place that evokes memories. Sandy areas with rare wooded forests. I remember that in this area, I had become distracted with my former hiking friends. Had felt lost and did not know the way to go down. Luckily that time finally found the right way down. If not, our fate would be like tourists who are said to be lost and have never been found there.

“Soon we will see the last post before the peak. So how’s the decision?”, Sukma asked from behind with a gasping breath.

I see the clock. It was nearing four o’clock in the afternoon. I pay attention to the surrounding conditions. Mist began to cover again. Thicker than the previous day. It is almost certain to rain soon.

“Let’s just open the tent again at the last post. Tomorrow we will go to the summit,” I answered with certainty.

Sukma nodded, then drank the water from the bottle that had been in her hand. His face looks frozen. His straight hair is a mess. But there was a bit of patience crossing his eyes.

Now Sukma is walking first. He knows more about the location of the last shelter. So he can immediately open the tent when he gets there first. While I set the pace of hiking more slowly behind. Want to enjoy nature more.

Sure enough, it was not until five o’clock in the afternoon, I found a place with towering rock cliffs. Rock cliff is not too high, but with a flat area below it. Flat land that is wide enough to open a tent. Sukma was seen busy opening the tent there.

The backpack on my shoulder immediately leaned against the rocks. While resting for a while, I left out cooking utensils. It seems like cooking hot water can be an interesting choice now. Right after Sukma finished building the tent, hot coffee was served from my hand. One glass was given to Sukma, who began shivering several times with cold.

“Hopefully the weather will be brighter tomorrow,” said Sukma, after drinking a little coffee in his hand.

I just nodded. Also drink a little hot coffee, then move to unpack the contents of the backpack, and put equipment to rest into the tent. After changing clothes, Sukma then entered the tent. Bring his things, and change clothes also in the tent.

Dinner this time again skipped with the rain. Lighter rain, accompanied by strong winds. The wind is what makes me more alert. Like a new barrier standing. Ready to make this trip fail again.

Fail Again

Almost all night the rain mixed with wind continued to occur. We can only pray in tents. Hopefully this wind and rain will soon be over. Because if not, tomorrow might fail to the top.

By six o’clock in the morning, I woke up again. The wind still sounds great outside. The voice was like endless, the sound of the wind chasing. While the rain hasn’t stopped yet. Even though the sound of rain didn’t sound heavy, it certainly couldn’t be called drizzling either.

“We can’t walk to the top, if the weather is still like this,” said Sukma, huddled in a sleeping bag.

“So what? My experience of wind and rain like this can be penetrated on foot”, I replied.

“Here it is different. The road to the summit will open. There are no trees and lots of sand. A hurricane like this will make the eyes hard to see. It can be dangerous too, because the sand is flying. We might even have to walk on all fours hand and leg, to be safe”, Sukma explained.

It seems hardly to believe in my ears to hear Sukma’s explanation. It feels like really heavy. Is that really the condition?

But in honor of Sukma, I decided to hold my trip to the summit today. Waiting for more friendly weather conditions. Hopefully this afternoon, the weather will get better.

But, hope is just a hope. Even until the evening and night again, the rainstorm still did not stop. Looks like the energy of this rainstorm is endless. Continues to occur without pauses.

“How long do you think storms are like this?” I asked, finally breaking the silence. Almost dying of boredom was chatting with Sukma. Curled up in the tent, waiting for the rainstorm to stop.

“I don’t know,” answered Sukma shortly. His eyes glazed out of the tent. Don’t know what he was seeing, because there was only mist there.

My friend this time is too young. He looks easily swayed by a more difficult journey. My mind still insisted on going to the top. But I could not do it alone.

“If tomorrow is still like this, do you still not want to take you to the top?”, I asked again.

Sukma saw me. His eyes begging for understanding. Then nodded.
We were silent for a long time. Even at dinner again, not much conversation happened. I decided to go to sleep early that night. After finishing writing the travel notes in a small book that I deliberately brought.

Sure enough, until tomorrow morning the rainstorm hasn’t stopped. My heart began to curse. Just annoyed. Will my trip to the highest peak in Bali fail again this time?

By noon because the weather did not show changes, I decided to go down. In my opinion. Our food is almost gone. Staying and waiting for good weather, just as high risk.

Finally, my heart decided to go down. Fail again to the summit of Mount Agung. I wonder what people will say later. Failed to climb to the highest peak of Bali twice. But in the heart still intend again. I will definitely come back here again. Maybe a third chance later, I got more fortunate. (Sulung Prasetyo)

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started